A Johnson County sample ballot with endorsements for Tuesday

votingHere is a list of many of the most important, contested national, Kansas and county races that Johnson County voters will see on Tuesday. My endorsements are in bold.

(The sample ballot for Missouri, Jackson County and Kansas City can be found here.)

If you need more information on any of these contests, please click on this link taking you to the endorsements page for Yael on the Trail.

And here is a link to the full ballot, including non-contested races, on the Johnson County Election Office website.

President: Hillary Clinton

U.S. Representative, 3rd Congressional District: Jay Sidie

State Senators

7th District: Barbara Bollier

8th District: Don McGuire

9th District: Chris Morrow

10th District: Vicki Hiatt

11th District: John Skubal

21st District: Dinah Sykes

23rd District: Spencer Kerfoot

State Representatives

8th District: Patty Markley

14th District: Merlin Ring

15th District: R. Paul McCorkle

16th District: Cindy Holscher

17th District: Tom Cox

18th District: Cindy Neighbor

19th District:  Stephanie Clayton

20th District: Jan Kessinger

21st District: Dorothy Hughes

23rd District: Linda Gallagher

24th District:Jarrod Ousley

25th District:Melissa Rooker

29th District: Brett Parker

39th District: Shelee Brim


–Kansas Supreme Court justices (6-year term): Retain all five

Carol A. Beier,  Dan Biles, Lawton R. Nuss, Marla Luckert, Caleb Stegall

–Kansas Court of Appeals Judges (4-year terms): Retain all six

Steve Leben, G. Joseph Pierron, Jr., David E. Bruns, G. Gordon Atcheson, Karen Arnold-Burger, Kathryn A. Gardner

–10th Judicial District Court judges (4-year  term): Retain all seven

James F. Vano, Thomas Sutherland, Robert J. Wonnell, James Charles Droege,  Thomas Foster,  Brenda M. Cameron, Sara Welch

–District Magistrate Judges, 10th Judicial District (4-year term): Retain all three

Michael H. Farley, Linda S. Trigg, James Phelan

State Board of Education Member, District 2 (4-year term): Chris Cindric

County Commissioner, 3rd District (4-year term): Steve Klika

County Commissioner, 6th District (4-year term): Mike Brown

Kansas Constitutional Amendment: NO

Explanatory statement. This amendment is to preserve constitutionally the right of the public to hunt, fish and trap wildlife subject to reasonable laws and regulations. The right of the public to hunt, fish and trap shall not modify any provision of common law or statutes relating to trespass, eminent domain or any other private property rights.

Johnson County Question: YES

Shall the Board of County Commissioners of Johnson County, Kansas, for public safety projects, adopt and impose an additional one-fourth (1/4) of one-cent countywide retailers’ sales tax in Johnson County, Kansas, to be levied from and after April 1, 2017, for a period of ten (10) years, ending on March 31, 2027, with the revenue from that tax to be distributed as required by law to the county and to the cities in Johnson County, and the county share to be used to fund the costs of construction and operation of public safety projects, including the construction, equipping, and furnishing of a courthouse building and a coroner facility, together with the costs to demolish the existing courthouse, and for the costs of programs and facilities related to those projects, including the courts, administration of justice, and District Attorney?